IMG_7667-Pano.jpg

IVF / ICSI

IVF.jpg

什么是 IVF/ICSI?

体外受精(IVF)是一种用于克服一系列生育问题的先进生殖技术,在专业的实验器材中,卵子和精子可以在体外结合。 受精卵(胚胎)被允许在受保护的环境中生长,然后再转移到女性子宫中,从而增加了怀孕的机会。

胞浆内精子注射(ICSI)作为IVF治疗周期的附加部分进行,在该过程中,使用非常精细的微操作设备将单个精子注射到每个卵中,以帮助受精。 在大多数情况下,ICSI可用于克服严重的男性不育症。

 

IVF/ICSI 流程

第一步:促排卵阶段

通常女性每个月会排一个卵子 ,而通过促排药物或激素,可以增加排卵数量。在此流程中,女性将定期做3-4次阴道B超检测,同时需进行抽血检测激素水平。大部分女性完成促排时间为8-12天。医生会通过阴道B超监测卵泡数量及大小,并且检测雌激素达到适当的水平时,才会给您注射绒毛膜促性腺激素(HCG),注射后约36小时后取卵。取卵后只有成熟的卵子可使用,通常的IVF周期平均要获取10-20个卵子,但是并非所有取到的卵子都可以使用,因为平均只有大约三分之二左右的卵子具有适当的成熟度。

第二步:取卵

取卵手术是一个从女性的体内获取卵子的小手术,该手术通常在我们生殖中心进行,在手术过程中,通过静脉注射安眠剂及止痛剂,女性将感觉不到疼痛。医生通过超声波引导,将一根很细的取卵针穿过阴道,插入含有卵子的卵巢中,针头连接抽吸装置,该抽吸装置可将卵泡里的卵子和液体一次一个的抽出,并对另一侧卵巢重复该过程。取卵手术后女性可能或有轻微疼痛症状,但通常一天之内会消失。

第三步:取精

精子采集步骤通常在生殖中心的特定取精室里进行,通过自然取精方式将精液样本收集在我们提供的无菌取精杯容器里,太太可以一同进入取精室帮先生取精。如果先生无法在取精室里取精的情况下,我们将允许先生回家或酒店取精,并于半小时内保持常温送回生殖中心。

在进行体外受精或胞浆内单精子注射之前,我们将提前2-3小时安排男方取精,这样可以让精子在培养箱有足够时间液化为体外受精或胞浆内单精子注射做准备。

第四步:体外授精和单精子注射

体外受精(IVF) 

卵子被放置在实验室装有营养液的培育皿中,并被大约5万到10万个具有良好运动能力的精子覆盖,该培养皿将在培养箱中培养一夜。精子和卵子的结合称为授精。在精子质量正常的情况下,受精率为70-90%。

在19 - 21小时后确定有多少细胞达到所谓的原核(PN)阶段,正常情况下的2PN期胚胎必须完成受精过程。每一个原核都包含有卵细胞和精子细胞的染色体。

胞浆内单精子注射(ICSI)

胞浆内单精子注射(ICSI)是一种为患有严重男性因素不育症的夫妇或在之前的体外受精中未能受精的夫妇实现受精的一种技术。这技术攻克了很多受精过程中的障碍,使那些希望渺茫的夫妇获得受精胚胎。

  • 怎样进行胞浆内单精子注射(ICSI)?

这项技术需要非常精确的程序提取单个活精子,并将其直接注入卵子中。首先取到卵子后将它们在我们的胚胎实验室的精确条件下孵化。其次,精液样本通过离心技术制备,这种技术将通过特殊培养基使精子细胞旋转,从而将精子碎片和大部分死精从中分离出来。最后胚胎学家用玻璃针挑选出单个活精子,然后直接注入到卵子里。

  • 谁适用胞浆内单精子注射(ICSI)?

ICSI胞浆内单精子注射是男性因素不孕与精液分析异常情况下被认为是绝对必要的技术。有时,患者选择接受ICSI的原因不是因为男性因素,还包括以前体外受精失败,精子计数变化,以及不明原因不孕等。因此,许多患者即使自身没有上述明确指征,仍旧选择进行ICSI技术,以最大限度地提高他们的成功率。通过ICSI程序,许多有男性因素不孕问题的夫妇实现了妊娠。目前的技术受精率为70-90%(所有被注射的卵子),相当于用正常精子受精的受精率,而在没有男性因素不孕问题的夫妇中,该受精率与体外受精的受精率相当。

第五步:胚胎培养/囊胚培养

当受精卵分裂时,它就成为一个胚胎。胚胎将被放置在一个高度受控的培养箱中。实验室胚胎师将定期检查胚胎,以确保它正常生长。在第3-5天内,一个正常的胚胎有许多正在活跃分裂的细胞。一般来说,胚胎培养分为2个阶段,即第3天胚胎(6-10细胞)和第5-6天胚胎(囊胚)。

囊胚培养是生殖医生和不孕不育夫妇更为普遍的选择。相比于移植第3天的胚胎,移植囊胚具有更多优势。

囊胚阶段是指胚胎发育到5 - 6天。在发育的这个阶段,胚胎拥有200到300个细胞分布在两个区域:一个是胚胎外滋养层(将来形成胎盘),一个是胚胎内细胞团(将来形成胎儿)。在自然受孕周期中,当胚胎发育成囊胚时离开输卵管进入子宫,胚胎到达子宫后需要进入囊胚期才能够着床。

囊胚移植被公认为一种比第3天移植过程更“自然”的移植类型,因为囊胚被植入子宫的时间几乎与自然受孕周期胚胎进入子宫的时间相同。或者,第3天将胚胎植入子宫,而自然受孕情况下胚胎这个时间应该还在输卵管内。胚胎学家认为,通过更长时间的培育能更好地选择健康的胚胎植入到子宫,因此怀孕成功的可能性更大,成功率也越高。

第六步:细胞活检及筛查

第七步:胚胎冷冻

细胞主要由水构成。冷冻胚胎的主要考虑问题是细胞内部和细胞之间将形成的冰晶。冰晶会伤害细胞壁,也会伤害细胞内的小结构。

胚胎在冷冻过程中必须加以保护。这是通过一种叫做低温保护剂(CPAs)的特殊液体来实现。CPAs就如同细胞的防冻剂。

医生使用两种不同的方法来冷冻和保存胚胎:缓慢程序冷冻和快速玻璃化冷冻。

在缓慢程序冷冻法中,胚胎分阶段缓慢冷冻。将胚胎防护剂加入胚胎中并慢慢增加浓度需用时10-20分钟。然后,胚胎将在胚胎冷冻仪中每一分钟缓慢冷冻,时长约为两小时。直至胚胎冷冻并被储存在温度为-321华氏度(-196.1摄氏度)的液氮中。

玻璃化快速冷冻技术,使用更高浓度的胚胎防护剂。医生首先将高浓度的胚胎防护剂与胚胎混合。浓度过高的防护剂也有可能会损伤细胞,因此为了防止这种情况,胚胎将被迅速放入液氮中。这个过程如形成玻璃一样将胚胎快速固态,同时冰晶不会损伤到胚胎。

当有需要时,胚胎将被缓慢解冻,胚胎会被浸泡在特殊液体中以去除胚胎防护剂,同时这也能恢复细胞正常的水分平衡。大约95%的冷冻胚胎在解冻过程中存活下来。

第八步:胚胎移植(冻胚移植)

胚胎移植当天,胚胎将被解冻,然后将胚胎植入患者的子宫。胚胎移植的阶段必须与准备子宫内膜的时间吻合。移植手术在生殖中心进行,患者全程是清醒的。医生将含有胚胎的细管(导管)插入患者阴道穿过子宫颈,然后进入子宫。如果胚胎植入子宫内膜后着床,你将会得到一个好的验孕结果。

正常情况下,可以将一到两个胚胎同时植入子宫内。胚胎移植的个数是一个复杂的问题,它取决于许多因素,尤其是女性的年龄。

胚胎移植前,从月经期第3天开始,女方需要补充12-14天的雌激素。然后在胚胎移植前3到5天,将会开始补充黄体酮。通常,黄体酮的补充可以是口服药和或使用阴道栓剂。有时,还需额外补充肌注油性黄体酮针剂。

第九步:验孕

在胚胎移植后大约7到10天,可以进行妊娠检测。通常是血清妊娠检测,也将包括黄体酮水平检测。如果检测结果呈阳性,可每隔几天重复检测一次,HCG生长水平大约每两天增加一倍。

验孕成功后您需要持续补充黄体酮和雌激素直到怀孕12周。后期医生还会对你进行抽血检查和超声波检查,以监测怀孕情况,并观察是否有流产或异位妊娠。

需要帮忙?
您的生育梦想从这里开始

IMG_7667-Pano.jpg

IVF / ICSI

IVF.jpg

What is IVF/ICSI?

IVF (In Vitro Fertilisation) is a procedure, used to overcome a range of fertility issues, by which an egg and sperm are joined together outside the body, in a specialized laboratory. The fertilized egg (embryo) is allowed to grow in a protected environment for some days before being transferred into the woman's uterus increasing the chance that a pregnancy will occur. 

Intracytoplasmic Sperm Injection (ICSI) is performed as an additional part of an IVF treatment cycle where a single sperm is injected into each egg to assist fertilization using very fine micro-manipulation equipment. In most cases, ICSI can be used to overcome severe male infertility.

IVF/ICSI Procedure

Step 1 : Ovarian stimulation

Stimulation drugs or Hormones are given to the woman to boost her egg production. Normally, a woman produces one egg per month. The fertility drugs stimulate the ovaries to produce several eggs. During this step, the woman will have a regular transvaginal ultrasound to examine the ovaries about 3-4 times and blood tests to check hormone levels. Most women will take fertility drugs (FSH) for ovarian stimulation for 8-14 days; the average is 10-11 days. Ovarian stimulation is used to mature multiple eggs. An average of 10 – 20 eggs is usually retrieved for IVF. However, not all of them are viable to use as on average only about two-thirds have the appropriate maturity. Once an ultrasound determines you have a sufficient number of large enough follicles and your estrogen level is at the right level, you’ll receive a trigger shot of hCG or other medication. The egg retrieval will be done approximately 36 hours later.

Step 2 : Egg retrieval

A minor surgery, called follicular aspiration, is done to remove the eggs from the woman’s body. The surgery is normally done as an outpatient procedure in our clinic. The woman will be given medicines so she does not feel pain during the procedure. Using ultrasound as a guide, the health care provider inserts a thin needle through the vagina and into the ovary and sacs (follicles) containing the eggs. The needle is connected to an aspiration device, which pulls the eggs and fluid out of each follicle, one at a time. The procedure is repeated for the other ovary. The woman may have some cramping after the surgery, but it usually goes away within a day.

Step 3 : Sperm collection

The semen sample is collected through ejaculation into a sterile collection cup that we provide in our clinic. The specimen is usually collected in the office in a specially designated private room. The man’s partner may be in the room to help him collect. Occasionally, a man will for several reasons, be unable to collect a sperm specimen in the clinic, even in the special room. In those situations, we will let him collect at home or hotel and bring the specimen within a half hour or so and it should be kept warm.

We will schedule the male for collection approximately 2-3 hour before we schedule the woman for the IVF/ICSI. This allows time for the sperm to liquefy in our incubator and time for preparation for the IVF/ICSI.

Step 4 : Insemination and Fertilization IVF/ICSI

In Vitro Fertilization (IVF)

The sperm is placed together with the eggs and stored in an environmentally controlled incubator. The mixing of the sperm and egg is called insemination. The egg cells are placed in a nutrient solution in the laboratory and coated with approximately 50,000 to 100,000 sperm with good motility. The dishes are incubated (cultured) in an incubation cabinet overnight. The fertilization rate in case of normal sperm quality is 70-90%.

After it has been determined 19 – 21 hours later how many cells have reached what is known as the pronucleus (PN) stage, a normal condition of 2PN-stage embryos must be selected to complete the fertilization process. The pronuclei each contain the chromosomes of the egg cell and the sperm cell.

Intracytoplasmic Sperm Injection (ICSI)

Intracytoplasmic sperm injection, or ICSI, is a technique developed to help achieve fertilization for couples with severe male factor infertility or couples who have had failure to fertilize in a previous in vitro fertilization attempt. The procedure overcomes many of the barriers of fertilization and allows couples with little hope of achieving successful pregnancy to obtain fertilized embryos.

  • How ICSI Works?

The technique involves very precise procedure to pick up a single live sperm and inject it directly into the center of a human egg. After pick up the eggs, they will be incubated under precise conditions in our embryology laboratory. The semen sample is prepared by centrifuging (spinning the sperm cells through a special medium). This solution separates live sperm from debris and most of the dead sperm. The embryologist picks up the single live sperm in a glass needle and injects it directly into the egg. 

  • Who is indicated for ICSI?

ICSI is considered absolutely necessary in the case of male factor infertility with an abnormal semen analysis. Sometimes, Patients are selecting to undergo ICSI for reasons other than male factor infertility including previous poor fertilization with IVF, variable sperm counts, and unexplained infertility. Therefore, many patients choose to undergo the ICSI procedure to maximize their success even when the procedure may not be clearly indicated. Through the ICSI procedure, many couples with difficult male factor infertility problems have achieved pregnancy. Fertilization rates of 70-90% (of all eggs injected) equivalent to that of fertilization with normal sperm are currently being achieved, and pregnancy rates are comparable to those seen with IVF in couples with no male factor infertility.

Step 5 : Embryo culture/Blastocyst culture

When the fertilized egg divides, it becomes an embryo. The embryos will be placed in a highly effective controlled incubators. Laboratory staff will regularly check the embryo to make sure it is growing properly. Within about 3-5 days, a normal embryo has several cells that are actively dividing. In general, there are 2 stages of embryo culture is referred that are day3 embryo (6-10 cell embryo) and day5-6 embryo (Blastocyst embryo).

Blastocyst culture is becoming extremely popular amongst reproductive physicians and infertile couples. A blastocyst transfer is associated with a number of advantages over the Day 3 transfer procedure.

A blastocyst is referred to an embryo reaches the five to six day development stage. At this point in development, the embryo has between 200 and 300 cells distributed in two areas: an outer embryo lining (which will later form the placenta), and an inner mass (which will later become the fetus). During a natural cycle, the embryo develops into the blastocyst stage as it is leaving the fallopian tubes and entering the uterus. An embryo needs to have entered into the blastocyst stage once it arrives in the uterus to ensure proper implantation.

Blastocyst transfer is considered a more “natural” type of transfer than the Day 3 transfer procedure. This is because the blastocyst embryo is implanted into the uterus at almost the same time that it would have entered the uterus should the pregnancy have been a natural one. Alternatively, during Day 3 transfers, embryos are placed inside the uterus at a time when they should normally still be in the fallopian tubes. By allowing embryos to culture for a longer period of time, embryologists are better able to choose healthy embryos to transfer into your uterus, so it is more likely to achieve a successful pregnancy and better success rate. 

Step 6 : Biopsy & PGT

Step 7 : Embryo freezing

A cell is made up mostly of water. The main concern when freezing embryos is ice forming in and between the cells. Ice crystals can hurt the cell wall, and can harm the small structures inside the cell.

The embryo must be protected during the freezing process. This is done using special fluids called cryoprotective agents (CPAs). CPAs are like “anti-freeze” for cells.

Doctors use two different methods to freeze and preserve embryos: slow programmable freezing and vitrification.

In the slow freezing method, the embryos are frozen slowly, in stages. The CPAs are added to the embryos in increasing strengths over 10 to 20 minutes. Then the embryos are slowly cooled over two hours in a machine that lowers the temperature minute by minute. Once frozen, the embryos are stored in liquid nitrogen at -321° Fahrenheit (-196.1° Celsius).

Vitrification is a rapid freezing technique that uses much higher strengths of CPAs. With this method, the doctor first mixes the CPAs with the embryos. CPAs that are very strong can also hurt the cell. To prevent this, the embryos are quickly placed into the liquid nitrogen. This process changes them into an almost-solid state, like glass. In this state, ice is unable to form.

When needed, the embryos are slowly thawed. They are soaked in special fluids to remove the CPAs. This also restores the cell’s normal water balance.

About 95% of all frozen embryos survive the freezing thaw process.

Step 8 : Embryo transfer (FET)

On the embryo transfer day, embryos will be thawed. Then, embryos are placed into the woman’s womb/uterus. The stage of transferred embryo must relate to the day of endometrial preparation controlled by external hormone. The procedure is done in our clinic while the woman is awake. The doctor inserts a thin tube (catheter) containing the embryos into the woman’s vagina, through the cervix, and up into the womb. If an embryo implants in the lining of the uterus and you will get a good pregnancy result.

Normally, one to two embryos may be transferred into the uterus at the same time. The exact number of embryos transferred is a complex issue that depends on many factors, especially the woman’s age.

Before embryo transfer, the woman will take 12-14 days estrogen hormonal supplementation starting from day3 of menstrual period. Then three to five days before the embryo transfer, you'll start giving yourself progesterone supplements. Usually, the progesterone supplementation can be taken as a pill and/or vaginal suppository. Sometimes, the progesterone during IVF treatment is given as a daily intramuscular self-injection as progesterone in oil.

Step 9 : Pregnancy test

About 7 to 10 days after the embryo transfer, a pregnancy test is ordered. This is usually a serum pregnancy test and also will include progesterone levels testing. If the test is positive, the test may be repeated every few days -hCG levels double about every two days.

You may need to keep taking the progesterone and estrogen supplementation for another several weeks until 12th weeks of pregnancy. Your doctor will also follow up with occasional blood work and ultrasounds to monitor the pregnancy and watch for miscarriages or ectopic pregnancies.

Need help?

Your fertility journey starts here